Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 500

    Not Ruwing the day

    March 10, 2020 in Oman ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    I found a cheap hotel-apartment on booking .com which was very good value. Large double bed, bathroom with a bath + hot running water, and a kitchenette. Enough to make me forget Africa.

    Another plus that I had not realised before: its in Ruwi, Ruwi is known as "Little India" and is the commercial and Mwasalat bus hub for Greater Muscat. The buses leave from here pretty regularly and one can get off at any of the bus stops. Getting back is a not so obvious though, as the drivers are hell bent on getting home and often do not stop where they should. Thanks to some Pakistani labourers who showed me the ropes, minibuses run the same route and can be hailed for the same price.

    The place is full of cheap Indian and Pakistani restaurants run by and for the impported labour force, which is 35% of the population. Most of the ones I have come across are from Bangladesh.
    Read more