Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    CDMX Day 4- 9/22/23

    September 22, 2023 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 66 °F

    Today started off quite lovely. I woke up with a bit of tummy troubles, but of course I powered through. Matt and I decided to have a light breakfast in order to save our appetites for lunch. We walked to Panaderia Rosetta— sister restaurant of the dinner from the other night— (https://www.instagram.com/panaderiarosetta/), which is supposed to have the best concha, a round pastry with a crackly sugar shell. It was good but honestly the least good thing we got bc everything else was SO fantastic. We ordered a corn muffin, which was baked in a corn husk so remained super moist and delicious, then I had a ciabatta with burrata, tomatoes and pesto, and Matt had a baguette with thick roasted pork (prob too rare for others buy it was delish), gremolata and pickles. We seriously are considering picking that up again for the plane ride home. Don’t be surprised if we do.

    We met our guide, Maricela (see pic for contact info) at the Museo Nacional de Anthropologia for a tour which dove into some of the main mesoamerican civilizations and how Mexico went from over 60 indigenous tribes to what remains today. It was truly fascinating. Maybe 2.5 hrs was a SMIDGE long but really, it’s nothing you know anything about. I guess that actually makes it kind of harder to stay engaged, but I did my damndest.

    I said the other day that Rosetta was our most hyped up meal, but I forgot about this one— CONTRAMAR!! (http://contramar.com.mx) As I mentioned, I was def having some issues in the gut health department, but I’d have to be on my deathbed to hold back from eating this meal. We started with the legendary tuna tostadas. They were, as advertised by our waiter, some of the best tostadas (well, he said THE best, but without trying them all, I’m not comfortable making that proclamation) in all of Mexico; a crispy corn tortilla with a layer of chipotle mayo (which i was surprised by) topped with thinly sliced super fresh tuna, crispy leeks and avocado 🤌🏻. Additionally we ordered albondigas de pescado (basically gefilte fish! Not my fave), an amazing soft shell crab taco with melt-in-your mouth flour tortillas, angle hair with clams, and the other most famous instagram dish of all time, a whole fish split and grilled, one side with adobo and one side with a parsley sauce (to me, 💚>❤️!!). It was a fabulous meal and that was thanks in no small part to our prime outdoor table, where we watched the who’s who of Mexico City see and be seen( as well as countless patrons with no reservation be turned away (which made me feel bad, but HELLO!?!?!). I didn’t want to leave, tbh, but I was really pretty unwell. We managed the short walk back to the hotel and headed straight up to the outdoor pool where we lazed away the afternoon. I kinda felt guilty but then not bc we are on vacation!!

    We were supposed to go to another well-known restaurant, Meroma, for dinner but decided we didn’t want such a production, especially since I wasn’t sure about how my stomach would handle things. I did get some
    Mexican lomotil on our way to the pool, which seemed to help, but we opted to a little Italian bistro, Osteria 8, just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Great decision, just what we wanted. Perfect margarita pizza, Cesar salad, spaghetti with cherry tomatoes and rigatoni amatriciana. What more does one need?!?! We are simple people with simple tastes.
    Read more