Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    From kibbutz elsatz

    October 28, 2018 in Israel ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    A full day. Didn't see any 🐪on the ride though I did avoid a lot of camel poop so I know they're around somewhere. We started the second to last riding day with a loooong downhill ride with lots of switchbacks from the edge of Mitzpeh Ramin crater (not really a crater but formed from geological processes) maybe five miles to the bottom. It was splendid! It was also beautifully desolate. I took only a couple of pictures and had another rider take one of me. Eventually, of course, we had to climb out of the'crater'. There are actually differs on this trip who enjoy climbing more than going downhill. The last hill varied from eight to ten percent for a long time. I had to stop and catch my breath it was so steep.

    In the afternoon we arrived at kibbutz Ketura, the home of the Arava Institute for the environment. We took tours of solar electric field and a village demonstrating off the grid technologies, but the best part was talking to students, who come from all over the region and the US to study environmental issues. It's small, 300 students, but it's an exciting cross cultural activity.

    Here are a few pictures, eventually I'll be able to show you pictures of me on my bicycle.
    Read more