Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Hallo München

    March 4, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 0 °C

    Longish (5 hours), but comfortable, journey from Berlin to Munich. Sadly, my seat had no window, and the people in front were using the coat hanger thing, so couldn't even get glimpses out that small gap. One of my favourite things about train travel is watching the world go by - the changes in landscape, the differences in buildings, and the glimpses of people in different environments. But it did mean I got a good amount of reading done and finished my first book of the trip (The Lost Daughter by Elena Ferante).

    This hotel is very lovely. I think it's quite new (or newly refurbished if not new entirely). Beautiful wallpaper and some high-end touches, including a Nespresso (type) machine (sadly don't think that will give me booked water for my herbal teas) and a fridge and wider than normal single bed with three different types of pillow. And the receptionist was very nice and printed my Bologna Book Fair ticket, which I had forgotten to print before I left Stroud.

    I ventured out to look for food and wandered toward the old town (I'm pretty sure). I caught glimpses of a lot of beautiful old buildings so I am going to have a wonderful explore tomorrow. And there should be a bunch of photos tomorrow, I think.

    I'm also planning to go to a museum because it has a €1 entrance fee on a Sunday (have been avoiding them so far, because they're all charging over €20 and I would REALLY need to know there are things I want to see inside to pay that (on this particular trip, anyway). (Sidenote, we are so lucky at how many of our museums in the UK are free to enter - let's make sure they stay that way.)

    I went Italian again (definitely my default!) and was definitely a non-vegan day, as well. Spinach and ricotta ravioli and Tiramisu. I am pleased with how much I have been able to eat vegan, though. I hope I'm not fed up with Italian food by the time I get to Italy.

    And then I navigated myself back to the hotel, at night, without needing to check my phone once. I was especially proud of that, as I was constantly getting myself turned around in Berlin, even with Google Maps.

    Only here tonight and tomorrow night and then off to Italy.
    Read more