Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Arrividerci Ferrara

    March 10, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 10 °C

    Moving on today.

    Would highly recommend Ferrara as a good base for exploring this bit if Italy. Regular regional trains to Bologna, Verona and Venice, as well as lots of smaller places in between that I am sure would be worth visiting if on a longer stay. And it's lovely itself too. Note that the train station is about half an hour walk from the centre of the old town, so bear that in mind. There are buses, though I didn't use them (I like getting a high step count!).

    I am off to La Spezia today. Taking three regional trains so as not to require extra reservation fees. 1. Ferrara to Bologna 2. Bologna to Parma 3. Parma to La Spezia

    Plan is to stay there one night and then head to Nice. The French train disruption (due to strikes) is continuing into the weekend. I have looked up the one French train I need to use in multiple places and current is still looking OK, but there still might be problems. So I think I may well have to leave until I am on the train from Ventimiglia to Nice before booking accommodation. Hopefully, if I make it to Nice, trains will be back on track (pun intended) after the weekend.
    Read more