Satellit
Auf Karte anzeigen
  • Tag 2

    Antibes Day 1

    5. Mai in Frankreich ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    And arrived in Antibes at about quarter to five. Walked to the apartment in about 15 minutes and fell in love straight away. I think this may be my French St Ives. It's smaller and feels calmer than Nice (though I appreciate that might not be the case in high season). Lots of old buildings and narrow winding streets. Lots of cafés amd restaurants. Lots of art stalls and shops and galleries. Mostly port in the town, but I believe there are a couple of nice sandy beaches quite near.

    I have had a wander and done a small stock up at a little Carrefour - baguette (hopefully I will find a proper boulangerie tomorrow, but it was still good), salty butter, a slab of Tomme cheese, some spaghetti and a jar of sauce (they did have vegetables but they were all in big bags, rather than individual and I know there is a market right outside my door in the morning, so I will get my vegetables there), a bag of plain crisps and three bottles, one of orange juice, one of beer and one of Prosecco.

    I really really love it here and definitely think it will be somewhere I visit more than once.

    I will probably get an easy night tonight, rather than go and prop up any of the many bars nearby. And then I need to decide about how to split my time between work and exploring during the week.

    But I am already very happy to have made the somewhat impetuous decision to come out here.
    Weiterlesen