Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 7

    Paris in the sunshine

    10 mei, Frankrijk ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    Got up super early, to shower, pack and make sure I left the flat clean. I looked a bit like a donkey, with all my bags - one tote on each shoulder (plus my cross-body handbag) and then the VERY full backpack holding them on. Waled to the train station and got there in time. No problem with the train, and I love how they tell you where to stand (happens a bit now with UK trains, too) for your carriage.

    I had a window non-table seat, which was so much easier than the route up. I could get easy access to everything I needed and wasn't cramped and the TGV fold down tables are massive, so I was able to set up my laptop and connect to the WiFi and get a chunk of work done. And I finished and sent something out before the battery ran out. Then sat and enjoyed watching the views out the window and reading my book a bit.

    Easily found the hotel (a different Ibis, this time, by the Gare de Lyon). And did a few bits of work then went and wandered. I walked down to the Seine and then walked along a lovely bit where there lots of plants and statues in little bits by the river where people were dancing (there was one bit where were dancing salsa and another where people were dancing go 1950s music, I think.

    Did some more wandering. Took photos of lots of doors. Sat and had a beer and read my book and a bit later I stopped for a meal - goats cheese salad and fries, which was quite nice. And then wandered slowly back to the hotel. There's a whole bunch of interesting little galleries and funky shops under some what look like railway arches and I noticed trees and plants above, and it turns out to be a green walkway, so I'm hoping to have a little walk up there tomorrow before my train.

    Ans so... almost home. This time tomorrow I will be.
    Meer informatie