Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Pula

    November 10, 2023 in Croatia ⋅ 🌧 13 °C

    Threatened rain all day but it never happened. Probably because we were prepared. I was excited to see the intact amphitheater and then learned it was reconstructed by a certain Itiallian dictator in WWII... no, I can't spell his name. It was cool anyway, and there we still some actual Roman masonry. Pretty much all the building materials were repurposed (stolen) for churches and such. The structure is denied by Unesco as a heritage site because it has lights for concerts installed.
    I should mention dad has a bad cold as do some other of the passengers. He comes on the walks anyway. I bought him some medicinal honey at a farmers market but he won't try it. It tastes fantastic. I think it may be infused with elderberry. I got this particular one doing pantomime for a cold and this one was recommended. I will probably eat it all in the next few days. It is amazing.

    PULA (10TH OF NOVEMBER)
    Local Guide: Matijas in the morning, your
    Trip Leader in the afternoon
    Learning and Discovery: Amphitheater and
    market, Underground WWI bunkers,
    Venetian fortress of Pula, Roman temples in
    the Forum, the city hall and the Cathedral of
    Pula
    On Board Activity: Music with the Istrian
    folk band
    Read more