Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Alnwick

    July 5, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    I can't remember whether it is Alnwick or Berwick which is still at war with Scotland but there are some seriously nice places in this neck of the woods.....including where I am staying tonight picked on the basis of being the cheapest place I could find! So....I am getting close to where I need to be for the wedding. Not all plain sailing. The downpour which hit me yesterday was really something and the system moved on to Holland (where I am going next) and killed people. The usb charger on the bike has died which is a big deal because my navigation is phone based and there is not enough capacity in my phone for a full day's riding without charging. Also my rear tyre has a deep cut in the central tread....not in a knobbly bit but between the knobbles. I would not have driven on it if I hadn't had to but I am pretty close to Falkirk now which is where the replacement tyre was ordered a couple of months back and I have driven on the split since France which is where I noticed it in a walk round. People are starting to talk about the bike and 'Haven't you come far!' I have not yet answered that I am only 1/6 through the planned trip!Read more