Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    Nearly Off

    August 3, 2023 in Finland ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Well that was horrible. To get to the port you have to drive through Helsinki and they are digging it up. The traffic is flowing but all the normal roads are closed. My trouble started where the GPS said turn right.....I was next to the rail tracks and the turn was steep and down....so down I go and I come to a barrier under the road and it is pitch black. There is a credit card swipe so I think MB this is the entrance to a toll road. On I go into darkness. GPS now dead. Then there is a blue motorway sign to the right....the turn is up and very steep. I turn, commit to the slope (ie rev and go) I go round a bend and come to a closed barrier across the slope. Well, it is half closed, so I back up on the slope and with much clutch burning wriggle under the barrier......and find myself on top of an abandoned car park! I stop.....walk down the ramp I have just come up it is the only way down.....I break the barrier (everything here is made of wood) I recon the next floor with a torch and find another ramp with a building site the other side and cones I can get through back on to a road.....and so I escape.Read more