Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 61

    Trail Update 1st December 22

    December 1, 2022 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    So if you've not got the impression from my roadtrip notes, there has been some serious weather here in Aotearoa in the last few weeks - the word unprecedented has been thrown around a lot - and as I've spoken to trampers and long term North Island residents alike over this period it has become increasingly apparent my original plan - to hop back on the trail - is (for the moment) pretty impractical, verging on impossible. Floods are expected in Whanganui, the 42 Traverse is closed off due to mudslips and the Tauraras look too dangerous to venture into with these levels of rain. It's a pretty disappointing development, but - as has become clear - adaptability is key for this entire journey, so adapting is what I'm going to do!

    The new plan, then, turns towards the South Island (which as I've been told many a time is tramping paradise). 1400km of bushwalking, mountains and spectacular scenery incoming in January 2023!

    For the last few weeks of December, then, I'm going to set up base in National Park at the base of Tongariro, working and hopefully walking if the weather slot arrives before heading back up North for Christmas to see the family, who arrive in mid December! Even more walking will doubtless be on the Silcock yule time agenda, as well as some more North and South Island exploration, but any highlights (namely the Whanganui river and Taurangas) that I can't reach in this period won't be missed out forever - and I'll aim to revisit before I head home in March/April!
    Read more