Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Hello from the Azores

    March 27, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ 🌬 17 °C

    After a flight delay and then standing in a 2 hours queue to pick up my car, I did not have high hopes for the day.

    As I set off from the airport I resigned myself to just going to my Airbnb and a short stroll, but I quickly saw a sign for a view point and thought sod it. So up some windy ass roads we went and I was not disappointed.

    I knew the Azores was going to be pretty after spending the last 5 years googling them and wanting to visit but no one quite prepares you for how breathtaking they actually are.

    After another 2 viewpoints, I went to the supermarket and checked into my Airbnb (super cute) which is 30 seconds away from the very very wild Atlantic (someone recommended whale watching but after seeing the sea I'm now not so sure).

    I then took myself on a 2 and a half hour hike before sitting by the sea with a cold cider to watch the sunset. I think the pictures tell you all you need to know.

    Honestly, 10/10 day. Spent the evening looking at property to buy here... Will I come home... TBC.
    Read more