Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    The fog

    March 30, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Well... The day didn't start off too bad!

    I headed to another area of the island to check out a waterfall hike which was short but gorgeous!

    On my way back, I decided it was time to check out one of Sao Miguels most famous sites... Sete Cicades and this where things started to go not so well...

    Half way up, the fog began and just got thicker and thicker with every turn in the road, which there are a lot of here!

    It was so thick, you couldn't see more than a few metres in front and the thought of trying to turn around on a steep road also seemed stupid... And so I persevered until I reached what was meant to be the starting point of my hike. Well, there was no chance of that. So I sat there in the fog and pondered what to do. After a few minutes, 2 hitchhiker's showed up and, sorry mum, but I did give them a lift! Honestly more for my sake than there's as I could not bear another however long driving through fog by myself. (They also were drenched and looked miserable). Anyway, they were very sweet and together we made it down back through the fog together.

    After that, I couldn't stand the thought of heading back out again but did manage to find a gorgeous massage place 15 minutes up the road where I had the best massage of my life.

    Could be worse!

    One thing I do know is that everything here is so unpredictable, you just kind of have to go with the flow!
    Read more