Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Day 21: La Chaumerette - Crozant

    September 2, 2016 in France ⋅ 🌙 23 °C

    Distance: 18.8 (464.8/1405.5)
    Weather: 30C, sunny and a bit hot
    Mood: Relaxed
    Blisters: 1 (but feet no longer feel tired)
    Staying at: Camping Municipal La Fontbonne

    Letting go...

    A number of people have told me that the camino is very much about letting go and today I realised I am starting to experience this.
    A few days of walking with the "jeunes" I met I learned a different way of walking. Naturally, despite my good intentions I had started planning my days and had felt rather pressured by the heat. If I would get up really early, I could get to the next place early and before the real heat, which to be fair never materialised. This led to a constant monitoring of my speed and at some point even controlling my break lengths. I know... It sounds a bit obsessive now, but the heat had scared me a little when I started to feel nauseous one afternoon.
    I felt I was battling the heat.
    However, these two young guys taught me to just go with the flow of the day, take longer breaks and enjoy the little interactions with the locals (yesterday we met a Belgian sculpturer who showed us his work).
    Today I realise I am learning to let go (a little) of control through planning and timing and it feels great!
    Read more