Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Day 36: La Reole - Bazas

    September 17, 2016 in France ⋅ 🌙 16 °C

    Distance: 36.8k - 10k shortcut (829.4/1013. 6)
    Weather : 21C, sunny and a bit windy
    Mood: OK, but not my best of days (snake in my sandle and fell and hurt my toe!)
    Blisters: 1
    Staying at: Airbnb

    When things get too easy

    Walking was just becoming a bit too easy with my super sandles, so St Jacques gave me a few challenges today. First of all the day started a bit sad as we said goodbye to Irma. It's amazing how quickly you can start to feel attached to people.
    Halfway through our secret shortcut I noticed something in my sandle and I promised it was a little grey snake.... EEEEEK! I tried to shake it off, but it got stuck in my sandle, so I had to pull it out. He didn't really bite me and he wasn't poisonous (confirmed by a friendly local and my current state). Apparently, I didn't even yell, but I did feel a rush of adrenaline.
    Last, but not least when I was about a km from the final destination, I saw a firetruck and fell at the side of the road... (I've ways had a weak spot for firemen 😉). Nothing too serious, but I think I may have lightly sprained a toe, oops!
    Oh well, I felt a bit grumpy at some point, but Luciens motivating words and a burger with chips have resolved this without a problem!
    Maybe tomorrow I will take it a little easy 🙂
    Read more