Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    Day 37: Captieux - Bourriot-Bergonce

    September 20, 2016 in France ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    Distance: 21k (867.7/975.3)
    Weather : 22C, some clouds some sun
    Mood: Needy
    Blisters: 1
    Staying at: Gite La Maillade

    It's the little things

    So that toe actually really hurt quite a lot and it "forced" me to say goodbye to the guys I was walking with. I didn't want to feel like a burden, slow them down and I also really wanted some quiet time again. Boy, did I have a low point later in the day. I felt trapped by the camino, cause walking hurt and there was no place nearby to go.
    But of course there was... I manned up and walked 5 more kms to the only sleeping option between Bazas and Roquefort (my plan was to walk the full 35k) and there I found a large Gite all to myself.
    I called it not so luxurious, but spacious to one of my fellow pilgrims, but I didn't get it yet. The Gite had all the little conveniences you miss on the road. A sofa, a washing machine, a bedroom and house to myself, Good WiFi, real towels and a bath.... After I watched a movie in the bath, at 7.30 the lady brought me a cooked dinner. I made a fire in the fireplace, caught up with family (over the excellent wifi) and fell asleep like a baby. As a pilgrim you do really learn to appreciate the little things again. Now, bring on the next stop, cause my halfway point and Spain are getting very close...
    Read more