Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    Day 45: Ostabat - Irun

    September 28, 2016 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Distance: 22.5 (1115/835) St-JPdP to Irun by car
    Weather: 25C, foggy, sunny, then rainy!
    Mood: Mixed emotions
    Blisters: 0
    Staying at: Hotel Bowling

    Another big decision

    I can feel how the tension was mounting with my previous post, is she going to do it or not...?! And of course I did. I'm walking the camino for a bit of enjoyment as well and the crowds on the Camino Frances were just making me feel a bit sick (Just watch the film The Way if you want to get an idea of it, though it's not Sheen's best).
    And so, after another eventful hiking day, including a bus ride and Marc saving a kitten from inside a wooden wall (hero 🙂) Marc drove me to Irun in Spain. I skipped the big day 1 of the camino Frances (1100m ascent over 20km), I skipped St-Jean-Pied-de-Port (not even a stamp in my pilgrim passport!), I missed saying goodbye to Irma (who I have grown quite fond of) and I skipped the classic with its crowds.
    Irun treated us to traffic jams, pretty relentless rain and a pension booking without a room for a minute I wondered if I made the right choice.. However, the bustle of the city in the little bars and shops the presence of actual lattes and a bargain meal made me feel at home quite quickly. And now I get to practice my Spanish!
    Saying goodbye to Marc was strangely a bit easier thus time. Next time I see him will be in about five weeks in Santiago.
    Other important news:
    * I reached 1000km
    * My new to walk kms have grown a bit as the Norte is 40-50 km longer
    * My toe is healing well
    Read more