Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 48

    Day 47: Ulia - Zumaia

    September 29, 2016 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Distance: 33.5 (1174.4/805.6)
    Weather: 27C, sunny and windy
    Mood: lonesome
    Blisters: 0
    Staying at: Zumaia Pilgrims hostel

    Ask for solitude and you get...

    Loneliness... Today I felt alone in the most beautiful scenery. My feet no longer hurt and the walking is going well. I enjoy the more challenging climbs here and there are plenty of options on the way to enjoy the nice Spanish food, lattes and frappes. Still, instead of joy, gratitude or even just chilled out, I was overcome by a feeling of loneliness this morning. Why now? I have been walking for so long and many days alone.
    I was thinking about what will happen when I get back home and I noticed that I am really longing for a "normal" life again, with some sort of work and my own place to live (and the same comfy bed every night and real towels, yay!). Without these things, I struggle to feel my identity and maybe that's starting to make me feel a bit lonely too.
    Luckily a few nice ladies at home cheered me up with their virtual company (thanks Nicole, Sharon and Jolka!) and soon I was engrossed in the waking again, step by step by step.
    Tomorrow I have a bit of a tough choice to make, walk 35k with a really challenging climb at the end or walk only 20k and do the climb tomorrow... in the rain. Opinions can be shared on the discussion board 😉
    Read more