Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 55

    Day 54: Guemes - Boo de Pielagos

    October 6, 2016 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 15 °C

    Distance: 20k (+9 by train) (1375.9/561)
    Weather: 21C, little rain first then sunny
    Mood: Upbeat
    Staying at: Piedad Hostel

    Give me a break

    Today I finally took it a little easier and it felt great. I still got up early and I made sure to walk alone for the first but, so I could call Marc and just enjoy the walk by myself.
    Despite the long walk my legs felt good and soon I reached the stunning coastline before Santander. I took a break for some food while watching the sea. Many nervous pilgrims overtook me at a hasty pace. I assume cause they were worried not to get a bed at the next Alberge.
    It felt like a big waking competition and it made me smile a little. I decided to take a break and took the train from Santander to a village 10km further and walked another 5k. This way I broke free from The crowd that had gathered at Guemes, but more importantly it gave me a much needed mental and physical break and I am smiling again. Tomorrow I'll walk alone again...
    Read more