Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Some sites from the past few days

    October 14, 2017 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    Wake up at 7:30 each day for a three mile run. Get lost and forget to bring my key is a common theme here in Venice. Clean up and tour different areas of the city. The Peggy Guggenheim collection has to be the highlight. Picasso plus a host of other amazing artists. Walking between 5 -10 miles a day. Feet are tired at the end. Breakfast usually coffee and croissants at the apartment plus fresh fruit. Coffee and biscuits midday. Larger lunch out later in the afternoon. Today we are at the Venice Art Biennale. Each country had a pavilion with selected art or artists or an installation. I don't understand most of it. For the German one we needed an app to see the art. The display was partial figures, but when looked at through the app the whole figure could be seen. Next post I will include a pic. We toured Margot's studio from 35 years ago and had a group dinner back at our 5 bedroom apartment. 28 for dinner including 2 profs. Met in San Marco square for a recreation of a picture of the students. 15 from 20 are here, plus some spouses. They seem to get lost in each other and revert to studies from the past. Just for Kathleen, my best meal had to be a lunch in Florence. Spaghetti and meatballs sauce. There were cherry tomatoes surrounding the pasta on the plate that melted like tomato paste. So good and flavourful. I order pasta at all opportunities. My plan is to gain weight here. I'm eating enough, but with all the walking, I'm not sure. I do know I don't like walking. My feet hurt from being on them all day. I have more steps than when I would run 50 miles a week. Tonight is another group dinner. Tomorrow will be my first ever opera. Where else to attend one? By the time we finish up dinner and cleanup each evening I'm ready for bed, forgetting to write. I've skipped out on a few pavilions while Margot tours them, so I get to write this. I am thinking of curling up on the grass for a nap. Ciao.Read more