Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Wetlands

    January 14, 2018 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    Thanks to a tourist pass I can now use public transport as I please. Therefore I went all the way to Sungei Buloh Wetlands Reserve. I started at the visitor center and took the coastal road. In truth it was a bit boring except at the end where I went raptor hunting. Now I made it to the good part of the center. The bird walk trail. Here I saw many egrets and a type of stork, but only after spotting two baby crocodiles on a tree trunk. Across the bridge I was stopped by a 2 meter monitor lizard, and as 3 men came from the other direction the monitor went towards me, that was somewhat intimidating.
    Later on the walk I spotted a grown up crocodile and showed it to a few people. Among others a nice Singaporean woman and we walked together a bit. Later a Finnish couple showed me a crocodile and we walked together the rest of the way seeing more birds and crocs.
    Read more