Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Oceanic wildlife

    February 7, 2018 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    Today didn't start well for me, seems like I had a case of food poisoning so the morning was rough.
    We drove towards Kaikoura I was in and out of sleep not feeling good. In Kaikoura I was supposed to go whale watching, but as we arrived I was not feeling up for it. Luckily we had half an hour and after that I kicked myself and went on the boat.
    We only had 2 1/2 hours on the water so due to bad timing we only saw one whale, but it was a beautiful and massive male sperm whale and it was clear to me he was larger than the females I saw last year around the Azores. We also saw several species of albatrosses they are huge.
    After the whale watching I was supposed to go kayaking and as Andi and I would share a kayak I went for it. That was a good decision, one I got better and better, two we saw loads of fur seals feeding on fish less that 5 meters away.
    After a long day, made longer by being ill, Lisa, Maggie, Andi, Michael, Niclas, and I went to dinner. After dinner we went for a short walk before getting some, especially for my part, much needed sleep.
    Read more