Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Good bye….

    November 3, 2023 in Argentina ⋅ ☁️ 61 °F

    And just like I leave Ave Cablido 598 apartment 4C and I’m on my way.
    Observations:
    1. Buenos Aires is a really busy city. 2.Traffic all the time, if you come consider that in your selection of locations to stay. My location was fine but if you are a light sleeper it might have been too much noise.
    3. The theater was great and having 5 in the area would be awesome… if I spoke Spanish better.
    4. If you are a meat eater there is a good restaurant scene. But other options are limited (at least that I found). Beyond the one Chinese takeaway in the mall, my choices were: meat, empanada, pizza, and burgers. I’ve never wanted a salad more than when I can’t find. Oh and the food is surprisingly bland. Not at all spicy. Lastly, sit down type restaurants are open 11-4:00 close from 4-8pm and reopen. Be prepared for late meals.
    5. Every day, no mater what I did, my brain had a language work out. I have a semester of college Spanish and 3 years of high school Spanish and I live in California, and it was barely enough to get by. Consider that if you visit.
    6. Take tours as often as you can, or explore on your own, the City is full of things and history is everywhere.
    7. In my limited experience use Uber (I paid 12,000 pesos for an hour and half ride to the airport) don’t get in a yellow taxi (I paid 6,000 to go about 10 blocks).
    Ending thoughts —Definitely come to Buenos Aires I recommend it. Stay for awhile so you understand a little better the economics,daily life, and general joy of the people. This is a city that moves fast but you need to take it slowly.
    Read more