Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Basilica of San Francesco d'Assisi

    September 13, 2022 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    First up was Assisi’s most prominent church, the Basilica of San Francesco d’Assisi. I think it has to be one of the most beautiful churches I have ever seen, and there have been a few over here that have blown my mind. The frescos are so vibrant, and detailed, and amazing, and I just can’t think of the right adjective to adequately describe them. I could sit for hours just in awe of them.

    Apparently, we were not allowed to take photos in the church and while I obeyed, Brad did not, hence the car failing us later that day. God smote him down and I had to suffer too as I was secretly glad he snuck some photos.

    The Basilica is the mother church of the Roman Catholic Order of Friars where Saint Francis was born and died. It is a Papal minor basilica and one of the most important places of Christian pilgrimage in Italy with building commencing in 1228.

    Brad actually sat in on mass which is different for him, but he said it was very uplifting. Although he did skip out just before the collection plate passed around. Maybe another bad strike from the karma gods.

    It is a stunning and impressive church, both inside and out. In front of the church is a bronze statue of Saint Francis on his horse with both horse and rider bowing their heads. It is said to be of the moment in 1204 when Saint Francis heard the voice of God telling him to leave the war and return home. I love the history behind these places and these pieces.
    Read more