Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Forró

    April 4, 2018 in Brazil ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    What Salsa is to Colombians, that is Forró to the Brazilians. Tonight I got to know and try this beautiful dance at the bar A Autentica. I took my time with the first dance, as most people at the party were really good dancers and I knew I would be sticking out. In addition, many couples (and by couple I refer to mostly one-song dancing couples) danced much closer than I would feel comfortable with a stranger.
    Already watching the others was fascinating. This dance has an incredible beauty (and in some cases also a lot of emotion) to it. Very slowly I also started accepting dance offers, however telling them that I had no Forró experience and preferred to keep at least some of my personal space. Since (almost) everyone accepted that and it also became clear that they really wouldn't try anything but dancing, I could relax and just enjoy the dance. It is definitely a lot of fun and a big part of Brazilian culture :)
    Read more