Satellite
Show on map
  • My Journey to the Northern Tier

    May 22, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 73 °F

    In 2015, my husband and I attended an REI program on cycling the Northern Tier. We were captivated and very interested in doing it. However, we ended up doing the Southern Tier in 2016 with Bubba's Pampered Pedalers. It was during this wonderful 53 day trip that we met our bicycle family of like minded cyclists from all over the country. Since then we have had many cycling adventures with them.

    Fast forward to 2018, we signed up for a Northern Tier Trip and were put on a wait list. The wait list never moved forward, so we didn't get to go. We did obtain some routes for the Northern Tier and began planning our own trip for 2020 with friends. Originally there were six of us and we had planned to hire our own SAG and take care of all of the details ourselves. We eventually approached a new tour company and began planning our NT adventure for June through August of 2020. Due to Covid 19, the trip was postponed to 2021, but we picked up a few more participants most of whom we know from other rides. We have been training for the last 2 years for this ride!

    As much as I thought COVID was a challenge in 2020, I was not prepared for a new roadblock. In January 2021, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I faced surgery and radiation and a short window before we would leave for the trip. My doctors have been very cooperative about my goal of riding the NT. And I am happy to say that I am recovered and ready to ride!

    In less than two weeks we will join 13 other cycling friends in Seattle, Washington and embark on a 69 day trip to Portland, Maine. Everyone in our group has done at least one cross country ride in the past and we know most everyone in our group. Our special road buddies are featured in the photos below from previous trips on the Southern Tier and England. Join us for a fantastic journey!
    Read more