Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Day 4

    February 9 in Turkey ⋅ 🌬 16 °C

    Istanbul > Istanbul Airport

    With a leisurely lay in it was the first morning in a couple weeks I didn't feel like I had been hit by a bus for existing. After a final Turkish breakfast we pack our bags and check out of Agora Guesthouse, with almost no plan of what to do to fill the day before our flight.

    Mission 1 was to post a postcard. Buying it was the easy bit, but posting it proved harder. After finding our way to the PTT, I finally managed to get some stamps and send it on its merry way back to England.

    Mission 2 was to find a fee free ATM. After finding one it was a mission in itself to be able to use it. Luckily Google Lens came to the rescue, translating using the camera.

    Mission 3 was to find Mario the Fisherman's restaurant where we weren't able to find Mario himself but we were able to enjoy a yummy Balik Dürümcü (fish wrap) which I would say was the tastiest thing we had in Turkey.

    Mission 4 was to find a classic Turkish ice cream man. 100 Lira later my nose was covered in ice cream and my dignity was gone but I walked away happy.

    Mission 5 was to find some snacks before our flight. Turkish Delight acquired.

    Mission 6 was to get our way to the airport. 2 trams and some 5 flights of escalators down, we had made our way into Istanbul Airport an hour before checkin. With our time we spent it researching SIMs, transport and the like before Alfie succumbed to the airport prices and the smell of food and begrudgingly spent £15 on a small meal from Popeye's. Eventually we board the biggest plane I can remember being in WITH in-flight entertainment but somehow less legroom than Ryanair. And this is where I sign off until Bangkok.
    Read more