Satelital
Mostrar en el mapa
  • Día 16

    Day 16

    21 de febrero, Tailandia ⋅ ⛅ 33 °C

    Chiang Mai > Bangkok

    Today was another day of alot of nothing. Woke up and my first mission was to shave. I've never shaved without an electric razor before so it was definitely a mission. 30 minutes later (which is probably embarrassingly long) my face was as smooth as marble and I didn't even cut myself. I'll count that as the biggest victory of the day.

    After checking out around midday, we went on a trek to find lunch - having not had breakfast. We stop and find some beef noodle soup in the only restaurant in Thailand I've ever seen a queue for. After our first beef of the trip, we head to another place and I grab a lychee smoothie and mango sticky rice. Out of all my smoothies, this was the worst - more of a slushee than a smoothie.

    We then head to a bookstore which didn't allow photos but had thousands of 2nd hand books which made it almost impossible to choose one. After maybe an hour I finally decide on the 1st Lord of the Rings volume as I thought maybe chilling on the beach was a good excuse to read. It wasn't until later that I realised I needed to read The Hobbit first oops.

    We collect our stuff from our hostel then walk past over a highway to head to a massive mall. It was a throw back to the Western world with H&M, KFC, and best of all M&S. Whilst Alfie was checking out shirts in H&M, I went into the M&S and somehow prices were even higher than in the UK. Shirt brought, we collected our bus tickets and grabbed a classic toastie from 7-11 before getting on our bus.

    Although it wasn't the VIP bus, only standard, the seats still reclined and I actually fit in them for once, allowing me to actually sleep most of the 10 hour journey. Also, one of the bus steward (I don't know if that's the name) was *definitely* flirting with me as every time he came past he would start chatting to me alot, even giving me his personal phone's hotspot. Main issue is, I had absolutely no idea what he was saying so I had to awkwardly smile and nod along trying not to be rude.

    Arriving in Bangkok at 4.30ish, we eventually find our Grab and get dropped off at the bus terminal. Getting another 7-11 toastie, we get given our boarding passes for the bus and ferry, given stickers to wear so the bus drivers could easily sort us out between the 6 different busses. Leaving just before 6, we were on our way down South.
    Leer más