Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 31

    Day 31

    7 maart, Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 33 °C

    Phuket

    After a much need lie in, we moved out stuff downstairs to a shared dorm after a nice night in a private room. We didn't have much of a plan for the day so we headed out in search of somewhere to do our washing. We chuck our stuff in and head for breakfast. After a smoothie and some chicken and rice, we put our clothes on to dry and Alfie went for a haircut whilst I chilled at the hostel. With a much better trim than Daisy left him with, we picked up our washing, then headed to a local park by suggestion of our hostel owner.

    We had realised that staying in the Old Town meany that there wasn't alot to do, most tourists went to Patong as there were beaches and a bit more of an atmosphere but to be honest I didn't mind too much. The 3rd task (after washing and haircut) that we needed to do was to book our island tour for the Phi Phi Islands tomorrow. I say we but in all reality Alfie had already found the tour and booked it so I just sat there and agreed. Whilst he was doing this I had to record a short speech for why I wanted to be social sec next year in mountainairing. I would like to say this was quick and easy and I got it first try but that was not the case. After getting over the initial hurdle of talking to a camera I must have repeated it 10 times before I finally got a take that Iiked. Alfie, however, didn't so another 10 takes and I got one we were both happy with.

    We took a walk around the park, which seemed to be Phuket's running park - as evening came in runners flocked to running in circles around the lake. Next to us, this dude set up an industrial sound system then started singing his heart out - maybe to encourage the runners? This park also had 2 giant dinosaur models which I thought were awesome - Alfie wasn't as impressed. After forcing him to take my picture we went on our merry way to our next destination - a viewpoint on top of a hill.

    I wish we had rented a scooter as it would have made our journey alot shorter. 1 hill with a shitty footpath later we had made it to the viewpoint at the top overlooking Phuket with the Big Buddha statue sitting in the distance on a hill. I grab a smoothie and Alfie grabs a coconut and after getting attacked by bugs for a while we sat and enjoyed the view and the sunset (it was too cloudy for a good view) whilst some monkeys messed about on nearby cars.

    We head to grab some food at the Indy Market again and then head to sleep ready for our tour tomorrow.
    Meer informatie