Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Day 30

    March 6 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 33 °C

    Khao Sok > Phuket

    After waking up at 6am for our 6.30 morning safari I felt like a train had hiy me, but it was all worth it for being able to see the beautiful sky when I opened the door to our hut, still laying in bed.

    Our safari was okay, we saw some monkeys and some birds but honestly I was so tired I kept falling in and out of sleep even sitting on the hard wooden planks. Eventually we got given some binoculars which helped keeping me awake but not by much. We returned back at our camp where I went for a quick wake up swim before being treated to a lovely pancake breakfast with maple syrup and jam.

    We checked out of our huts and got back onto our longtail boat before reaching the original dam again. We said goodbye to our guide (unfortunately I never got his name) and hopped into a van headed towards a restaurant for a very early lunch. We sat by this nice bridge surrounded by fans and had a free 100 Baht budget to chose from.

    After what felt like way too long, our driver says its time to go and we headed back to HQ. It was about 1pm now and our bus was scheduled at 4pm, but there was another at 2pm which meant we were gonna try and go to the bus station and see what they could do. To our suprise, the lady at the desk called ahead and said if we could get there on time there was enough space for us to get on. She then arranged travel for us and we hopped in the back of a truck and we arrived. However, once arriving it turned out that apparently there wasn't space for the 2pm bus so we had to wait for the 4pm.

    After a boring wait, we made it onto the bus and it definitely was far from luxury. The AC barely worked and there were alot more people than seats. So after sweating my ass off on the leather seats, drinking water than had been heated by God knows what, half the people get off which let's me move seats and stretch out a little for the rest of our journey.

    We get into Phuket just before 8, and having been told that busses into the Old Town were finished for the day we order a Grab and make our way to our hostel. There had been a slight mixup with our room but it meant that me and Alfie got a private room to ourselves for 1 night all it meant is that we had to share a bed. I saw this as an upgrade though I'm not sure Alfie agreed. The bed must have been a Super King as it was the size of 2 singles. We dropped our stuff and headed to Phuket Indie Market to grab some food. At this market they had a very enthusiastic dancer on stage with the musicians which was so funny I could barely watch.

    We headed back and it wasn't long before I had showered and passed out as I was that tired.
    Read more