Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Day 41

    March 17 in Cambodia ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Koh Rong

    We headed to a restaurant close by for breakfast and we all ordered some French toast, turns out it was with slices of a baguette instead of bread but it was still beautifully cooked - especially with the chocolate sauce. I also grabbed a mixed fruit smoothie from the nice lady on the street which was as beautiful as ever - she's definitely perfected her craft.

    Afterwards, we were gonna rent a scooter to head to some other parts of the island but we decided to walk along the road in the other direction to yesterday to Long Set beach. I guess all the beaches are quite long on this island. After a very hot walk along this road we made our way down onto the beach which had a few more people than yesterday as their was a mad monkey hostel but it was still pretty chill.

    We basically spent the next few hours swimming, floating about, snorkeling and sunbathing. It was a very relaxing time which I spent trying to figure out how to get to the Alps this summer. Unfortunately I had forgotten to put suncream on my face so I had become like a tomato. I was lucky compared to Daisy who decided to nap laying down in the sun instead of the shade like Alfie and I - which lead to alot more burning than anyone would like. I did try and warn her.

    We grab some food slightly off the beach, and I grab some chocolate cookies which were melty but still yummy. We then walk back along the road which was alot nicer than the way out as the sun was almost set. Our plan today was to pay for the boat to go and see the glowing plankton which left at 7. We paid $7 each (which we should have haggled a bit for) and got on the boat heading out into the sea. We stop and are given snorkels and then the lights and cut and told we're good to get in. I took the initiative and jumped straight in. To be honest it was a little disappointing, but that's probably because the sun was still quite bright. There wasn't any magic blue glowing water but as you moved your hands around infront of you there were loads of little white glowing specs. After swimming around for a bit I started climbing the ladder and took my snorkel out. Forgetting it wasn't properly attached to my goggles it fell straight into the sea and sunk before I could rescue it. In good news I didn't have to travel with as much and we were done with island and beach travel for a while. Plus a snorkel was cheaper than the goggles.

    We get back, change into some dry clothes then head to "The Lucky Leprechaun" - an Irish Pub as it was St Paddy's Day and Daisy was half Irish. We asked for some Guiness but unfortunately they had none as it would have probably been fairly hard to get on a random Cambodian island. Instead I settled for some green dyed Carlsberg. We chilled on some comfy chairs on the beach listening to music whilst I planned my few days solo. Eventually Daisy and Alfie head to bed and I meet this nice 52 year old guy from London who was enjoying life to the max and happy to be here. Eventually I call it a night and head to sleep in a slight busier room than before.
    Read more