Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 58

    Day 58

    April 3 in Vietnam ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    An Bang Beach

    Wake up, get another Banh Mi Queen for breakfast (this time a BBQ instead of the traditional), do another fitting for Daisy's clothes then grab a taxi to the beach. I'm gonna be honest I did almost nothing except for lounge on the sunbed under the shade of the umbrella and occasionally go for a swim (the water was actually surprisingly cold when you first hopped in). We made a huge trek for lunch (about 10 meters away) and I ordered another set of the local fried wonton, this time getting them with shrimp as I think that's how you're meant to have them. They were - of course - super tasty and I tried a mixed fruit lassi (yoghurt based drink) which was - of course - super tasty. Then, back to the beach before grabbing a taxi back and picking up Daisy's final clothes which she seemed super happy with.

    We head back and I shower to remove the buckets of sand from within my swim shorts, then we head out for some dinner. The most well known local cuisine isn't actually the fried wontons but these White Rose dumplings. There is exactly 1 restaurant that makes these in Hoi An and they supply any other restaurant with them every day. There is only 1 option to have them and it's a family secret recipe. So, for our last dinner here I really wanted to go to this restaurant and try them straight from the source. When we arrived their menu consisted of only 2 items, shrimp wonton and shrimp white roses. Daisy couldn't get the white rose without shrimp but she got some fried wontons. Alfie and I went for the white rose and after a little mixup I eventually got my plate. We were given some sort of chilli sauce / oil with it and they were covered in fried shallots. They were yummy but to be honest I prepared the wontons - but would definitely not complain if I were to have them again.

    I fancied some dessert as the white roses weren't too filling and we happened to pass a gelato place that did a 21 flavour tasting plater. Now I am 2 things: a cheapskate and a sweet tooth and today was finally the day where my cravings out played my savings and I went for it. It was towards the end of the day so I ended up only getting 14 flavours plus sides of strawberry, mango, waffle, brownie, and chocolate sauce. Much like the way I ate my pizza yesterday I took my time, focusing on each flavour. Unfortunately I had to try and work out each one but it was still a great experience to slowly try small segments of beautiful gelato. I liked most of them, love alot of them, was okay with the coffee one but absolutely despised the durian flavoured one. The bad thing about frozen food is it tends to melt so towards the end I had to battle against the slosh forming. Unfortunately the durian leaked into the multi flavoured mixture of melted gelato and overpowered the others but I still got a good few individual tastes in before the great melting of 2024. I finished up my sides and chocolate sauce before leaving full and extremely satisfied.

    I head back, and meet the other 2 at the night market before heading to bed.
    Read more