Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Old Porto day 2

    August 31, 2018 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    After getting up at 11:30 (oops. But it is techically 6:30 Ottawa time), I visited the town of old Porto since it is my last day here and I head to Douro valley tomorrow. It was absolutely beautiful! The boat cruise took us under the Don Louis bridge and 5 more. This was followed by a walk to Gaia where I had the most spectacular views of old Porto. I then visited the tower of Clerigo which offers 360 degree views of the city. This was gorgeous but definitely do not recommend for anyone who is claustrophobic or impatient in crowds as we were stuck between narrow walls going up most of the time! The day ended with the visit of the world's most beautiful library - Livraria Lello. Oh and you can't forget the great food! Best mussels and olives I've ever tasted!

    Side notes:
    - I brought my hair straightener for nothing - it does not even fit in my universal plug. 😭 Now I'm stuck hauling it on the camino.
    - I think the hardest part about backpacking is not being able to buy any shoes or clothes or souvenirs. I'm sorry friends and family.😑😣😣😣😣
    - I will come back to Portugal with an empty suitcase to buy things.
    Read more