Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Driving around the island

    October 26, 2023 on the U.S. Virgin Islands ⋅ ☁️ 30 °C

    The island is so small that you can drive across it from east to west in less than an hour. Today I once again practice my driving on the left skills. I am shocked that I did not make any mistakes especially when turning. Driving here is wild, so many potholes and people will randomly stop to let, anyone and everyone pull out of a driveway or a store. There’s also honking all the time. I read that people honk to tell people that they are letting them in, they honk to ask to be let in, they honk to say hi to somebody that they see, and they honk when they approach any sort of intersection to let people know they’re coming. The first few times I thought I did something wrong, but then I started to catch on, and even started honking myself! I drove up through the rainforest a little bit. Google maps gets very confused here so I had to use my savvy map skills to make sure I didn’t get lost.Read more