Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    My Greek Leader

    May 12, 2023 in Greece ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    4) Regarding the Greek leader that you researched, what did you learn while we were in the Greece that helped you understand him or her in more depth?

    Not once on this trip did I see any statue of my leader or anything named after him, but I did get to see some of the places and things that Pisistratus started in Greece. The first thing that we came across that was related to my elusive tyrant is the Panathenic stadium. While this stadium is not the original, and was excavated rebuilt in the 1860’s, it was originally made by Pisistratus for the Panathenic Games. These Panathenic Games were like the Olympics, but in Athens, yes I know such a big difference. They began in 566 BC and played every four years and continued till the third century AD.

    The other place that is closely tied to Pisistratus is the acropolis. When Pisistratus became tyrant of Greece, it was through him attacking and taking control of the acropolis (he did this two separate times). When we visited the acropolis
    we saw Parthenon, but back in 566 BC it would not have been there, so he was there before the ruins that we saw where even built!

    I was not able to learn anything more about Pisistratus while on this trip. I did find that there were a few roads named after him but we never visited the areas that were near there.
    Read more