Satellit
Auf Karte anzeigen
  • Tag 4

    Difference in Service

    12. Mai 2023 in Griechenland

    3) What about the service experience is different than the service we do on the team at home?

    There’s a lot that’s different from what we do back home. When working at the art gallery, the guts and I helped a good deal with the construction upstairs, and I’m quite certain that back home we probably wouldn’t be allowed to use the saws and power tools without signing a waiver of some sort. We happens lay the floor put up molding and trim, as well as sanding and painting. A few of those I would expect to do in freshman workday, but the saws probably not something allowed. All of us guys were very headstrong in working in construction, we wanted to get as much done as possible but the once Syrian refugee, now volunteer who was leading the construction held a very slow and relaxed pace that none of us guys were used to.

    Another big difference that shocked me was on our third day of service work we ended up having a picnic, and I thought to myself that there’s no way that a picnic that had already been prepared for us could possible be work, but I was wrong. We were there to help socialize with the refugees, we helped watch their kids and help them have a good time. I didn’t expect to gain anything from it but I ended up spending most of my time helping a refugee girl give out flowers to everyone and it sure made my day, if not the day of others.
    Weiterlesen