Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Lyon

    February 17, 2023 in France

    Really starting to feel homely in Lyon. Took the 5.53 am train from Lille, and, again, just loved it getting up early. It's not even that painful or freezing anymore to turn on the blinding light first and swing my body out of the bed. Even after only 5 hours or sleep

    Had a very productive train journey and finished, finally, up on some long overdue work. The restaurant of the TGV was closed but they had put out free water to drink, which I found to be the least German thing anyone can do. Another mosaic in France growing on me. Guess I am entering the phase where idealizing every aspect of the country I am.

    After arriving in Lyon at 9 am instead of going straight home, I decided to continue my work streak in a local cafe. Kept working till 1 and headed out for Eritrean lunch. Which, for the record, was very delicious but also mysteriously bland at the same time.

    On the way home I saw a village worth visiting before we move away from Bellegarde: Virieu-le-Grand-Belley.

    Medieval farm stays surrounding a castle or monestry against he backdrop of an mountain that looks like a fossilized penis.

    💯 Don't forget.
    Read more