Satellite
Show on map
  • Gili to Komodo

    March 20, 2019 in Indonesia ⋅ 🌧 28 °C

    Yesterday I left Gili air early in the morning. I had asked many salesmen if it was possible for me to leave in the morning and get to the airport in time for my 2pm flight, as in would it 100% be possible. To which they told me yes, the journey takes 2.5 hours and the boat goes at 8.30am. So I chose to stay the extra night on Gili Air and I enjoyed a night out with an old Australian hippy I had met diving. Then I got up early and went to the ferry port.....8.30 came and went and the guy started making announcements in Indonesian. Then I noticed a sign that says the boat goes only once 40 passengers are ready, so obviously all the locals strole along whenever it suits them as they know the boat won't have left on time.....so I just patiently thinking I had plenty of time, even if the boat was late. Eventually at 9.30 the boat has enough passengers and we took the 15 minute journey to Lombok mainland. From there I had been told to walk to the office to get the bus to the airport, but a guy on a bike insisted on taking me there. When I arrived the guy in the office was annoyed at me for being late and said the bus had left already. I told him it was beyond my control and explained all the conversations I had had with ticketsalesmen who told me I would definitely have enough time for the journey. He was stressing because the journey from there to airport was apparently 2.5 hours. In the end he took me on his bike to meet a minibus and the minibus dropped me at the airport. I got there in plenty of time and never really felt any stress myself from the experience, but learnt not to take salesmen's word in future! Anyway I arrived in Komodo on time and was glad for those people that helped me get here. Of course they tried to cheat me for extra money, but I told them no chance. And that was that.

    I have come to Komodo to do a live aboard dive trip with one of the girls I met in Bali back in January. She flies in from Australia tomorrow morning, having been back home for work.

    I have wanted to come to Komodo for a long time, to see the dragon. But now I am a diver it is even more appealing. Known to be one the best places in Indonesia for diving, with strong currents that bring in big sharks and manta rays for feeding, amongst other things. I expect some challenging dives but brilliant visibility and amazing things to see. I have chosen a reputable company who take divers in very small groups so that current dives can be safe, and take divers to different entrance points for dives depending on their experience. I have also managed to wangle a 250euro discount.

    The boat sleeps 10 guests. We will do up to 13 dives over 4 days. We also visit an island to trek where many Komodo dragons are and another island for a sunset trek. The food on the boat looks incredible. It is going to be another indulgent experience.

    I probably won't be able to use internet until off the boat on 24th, so don't worry if I haven't updated this.
    Read more