Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Arrived in Helsinki

    May 20, 2023 in England ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    I've arrived and what a nice flight on FinnAir. If the air hostesses are an example of Finnish women ( blonde, tanned, gorgeous), I'm in for a treat! But the biggest treat of all was Serena waiting for me at the airport, what a joy it is to have such a loving daughter. Serena arrived with a NZ flag, groceries and all, for my BnB.
    Helsinki,on first impressions, reminds me of Auckland, lots of volcanic rock, big areas of housing and a large rail station downtown. Today it's very warm, probably 20+c and the bluest of skies.
    My accommodation is also an impression of NZ. Built in 1936 in the art deco fashion and looks very similiar to my nephews and his partners (Matt & Rose) place in Upper Willis St. In fact I could swear it was the same architectural design inside in particular. It has the quaintess old lift. The owner, Pekka, came and met me and Serena, a older Finn and very hospitable.
    Serena has now left me to rest while she parties and then tomorrow, it's all go.
    Read more