Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Helsinki Life

    May 27, 2023 in Finland ⋅ ☀️ 10 °C

    Today was another day to experience Helsinki after a day in Estonia. Serena and I met up with a NZ neighbours relation, Nick, who is also a NZer married to a Finn. To top it off, we met at a Kiwi owned cafe not far from Serenas apartment. The cafe is named "Stay Kind", and guess what? They made flat whites, yummy. I presented Nick with 2kg of NZ lollies sent by his sister. I also gave him two NZ calendars of Taranaki.
    After this, Serena and I had lunch at her apartment and then headed into the city to buy her special Finnish made jewelery for her graduation. I also took the opportunity to buy a bracelet for a good friend. We then promenaded by the waterfront and had dinner at one of many food stalls. I had traditional Finnish fish and veges and Serena a hot dog. After dinner, we headed for an ethnic festival where we drank a juice made of hibiscus flowers and realised how ethnically diverse Helsinki is. Again, you wouldn't believe it, a Finn who has been in NZ, now selling local Kombucha called Ohakune! At the festival, we met up with Serenas friends from Uni, also a mini UN of nationalities.
    PS: I've included photos of Serenas area and things local for interest of the readers like roads, trams, the underground, etc.
    Read more