Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    It's been a hard days night........

    May 30, 2023 in England ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    ....and I've been sightseeing like a dog...........

    My first full day in London and I had to make a stop at Abbey Road Studios. While tours of the studio were not running, I did the famous walk across that crossing and visited the gift store.

    After checking out Abbey Road, I went to the Natural History museum. Whoever would have thought that such a museum of old bones, rocks, and skeletons would hold so much interest. I had to queue for 2 hrs to get in the door, and then it was a " bun fight" to get around inside. Altogether I spent 3 hrs there and could go back for more. I saw the oldest and largest complete skeleton of a dinosaur ever discovered, and that only occurred in 2014 in Argentina. It has only recently gone on display. It's called a Titanosaur. It's massive, and you wouldn't want that running through the Redwood bush in Tawa... NZ got a mention as to some very old rocks, etc, and I saw some of the worlds biggest uncut diamonds and jewels. The museum was just amazing. I was fascinated that Britain has so many mineral deposits that they are trying to mine for electric car batteries.

    Speaking of cars, I passed by the Lamborghini sales office, and they also sold Maseratis as a side line. Very nice!

    Those excertions filled my day, I forgot about crowds in London, the time on the underground and busses and those queues!
    Read more