Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Scrum down - Ball out

    June 1, 2023 in England ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    I'm on hallowed ground, instructions are you look at OBS ( Old Big School) where it all happened and Webb- Ellis picked up the ball and ran. Yes folks I'm in Rugby where the Brits invented the game but of course we Colonials perfected it 😉.
    Rugby is a beautiful town dominated by the school. My friends Jarlath & Jenny Norman sent their son to Rugby school, a private ( or in the UK, public) school.
    The history of the school is interesting. In the 1800's the school pupils revolted and there was an armed stand off between pupils and the local militia.
    My friend, Jarlath , his father was head caretaker at the school and Jarlath as a child can remember helping his father mow the lawns.
    My Great Uncle, Billy Wallace, was one of the first All Blacks, and he played at Rugby. These were the days when they toured for 6 months and were greeted like hero's on their return.
    During my days in Rugby, we drove around the countryside and walked a lot. We saw Guy Fawkes house, built in 1605, where he planned his attack on Parliament. So Rugby has had them all, the good and the bad.
    My friend Jarlath is a retired Army Captain, Parachute regiment and last served in Afganistan. Jarlath and I also worked together in our later jobs and I had Jenny work in my team.
    Today, Sunday, we had a classic British pub lunch. It was delicious and not badly priced. I had a "warm beer" to wash down the Sunday roast. Afterwards we strolled back to Jarlath & Jenny's.
    Tomorrow, I'm off to Tamworth to meet Dave and Bev and then travel by car to Cheltenham.
    Read more