Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Boring but productive days

    April 27, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    I AM STILL ALIVE!

    Sorry that it has been a while since I have posted but these past few days have not been the most interesting. I have not really done anything of note other than meeting new people, trying new and interesting foods as well as trying to open a bank account (which is still not done yet. Yesterday I spend three hours at the bank and on the phone with them, im actually there again now waiting for an appointment).

    Below are the candy bars that I have tried. Really not so great, they are too sweet. Oh well.

    Anyways I think that I'll start a list of things that are different than back home.

    1. Coffee is amazing here but they don't have as they call it "drip coffee" and nothing under 4$ a cup. On top of that, if you order coffee in the afternoon they kind of look at you funny.

    2. Pretty much everything is closed by 8 except for fast food restaurants and really expensive restaurants. This includes all the coffee shops. It makes me wonder where the university students hang out and study.

    3. When I'm walking I am new quite sure if in supposed to walk on the right or left side since people drive on the wrong side.

    4. When crossing the street the poles play music when you are allowed to cross and the sign shows an actual green person walking when to walk and a red person standing when you are not supposed to walk (not a hand).

    5. Paying by credit card is much cheaper than paying with cash. They use the bank exchange rate and don't charge me fees so I will usually save about 0.10 on the dollar which is nice since most things here are significantly more expensive.

    6. Bacon is included in pretty much every breakfast meal but they are not strips they are round-ish. It's weird but it tastes the same.

    Last night I went to a meet up and met a bunch of people. It was an hour walk away but was worth it. It was a mix of locals and travellers but they have all been here longer than me and they gave me a list of things to see and do (And eat) while I am here. They also invited me to a couple parties. One I will miss because of my trip but I would make the second it I chose to come back to Auckland after my tour which is a possibility that I had never seriously consider.

    I can't wait for my trip to start tonight so that I can finally travel a little bit more than I have been these past few days. I wonder what will happen and what I will get to see. Ill try to post every few days if I can.

    Anyways right now I need to go to the bank to try yet again to open a bank account. I kind of wish there was an easier way to get this done.
    Read more