Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 103

    Very small and quick update

    August 2, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Well it's been a real long time since I have written anything so I decided to out a little note to show that I am still alive and well.

    I have been here in tekapo for well over a month, it will actually be two months in a week, which means one more month before I can go back to Wellington. Here are a few short points of things that have been going on.

    So for the first month that I was here I got a little lazy and decided to not shave. I got a nice little beard going for a while but decided it didn't look super clean so I shaved it off last week. Yay. I took a couple of pictures right before and after I shaved it.

    I went skiing for the first time and didn't die. The owner of the place that I worked paid for lessons and i took beginner lessons which I instantly regretted after he spent abiut 15 minutes explaining how to put on the skis. Oh well, I have a strong base to work from right now.

    When I came to new zealand I expected to lose out on a lot of hockey but for the past two weeks I have been playing hockey three times a week in full equipment. I may not be learning too much or improving but every time I get out there I feel my confidence building. Maybe it's because most of the time I am knocking over 14 year olds but they kind of asked for it when they asked me to join them.

    Other than that the job itself and lessons are fun on most days. The days that you are given more freedom to talk to people are a lot of fun. Last week I was teaching four little boys how to skate and they wanted to see how fast I could skate. I wanted to get away from them for a bit so I decided why not and skated in a circle and when I stopped I gave them a snow shower right in front of their parents. I instantly realized how bad of an idea that was but the kids seems to love it as they wiped the snow off their jackets (a snow shower is when you stop abruptly in front of someone and snow flies in their face....).

    Anyways, I'll just leave this for now.
    Read more