Satellite
Show on map
  • Chez 'Tic, Bassoues

    June 24, 2018 in France ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    The last day before we leave and the last opportunity to be by myself for I don't know how long. Picking up a few bits for lunch at the Sunday market, a regular ritual for me. I'm trying to keep it together, although I feel pretty freaked out. The list of last minute details seems to grow faster than I can cross things off it. The logistics of organising this trip have been a daily concern for months now and, in spite of all the planning and reservations there is still much to be organised,even en route. Some of the tickets need to be picked up in various cities, some have yet to be issued because we are leaving home so far in advance of the return journey. I'm very glad I have this tablet, but a little worried about being overly reliant on it.
    Being responsible for the kids on this adventure gives an entirely different complexion to the planning from when I used to travel as a youth. In those days I would do little more than pack a rucksack and trust everything would work out. I would have a tent and a stove though and fully expect to get stuck by the side of the road occasionally.
    Read more