Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Punta Uva

    January 10, 2018 in Costa Rica ⋅ ☀️ 13 °C

    Good morning everyone!

    With new energy we started our day trip to Punta Uva. It’s a beautiful beach with a viewing point and also one of the places one shouldn’t miss when staying in the region of Puerto Viejo. It was still pretty early but nevertheless, we started our bicycle ride in a tropical heat. However, we should’t complain after one week of rain these hot days were simply perfect!! To get to Punta Uva one has to ride on the „normal“ street where cars pass by in a dangerously highway-speed. But as soon as we got there we recognized that the way was really worth it. Punta Uva is a very tranquil place. Even if there are a lot of visitors its length alouds one always to find a more private and calm place. We spend some time at the beach and then we climbed up the viewing point which is kind of hidden at the end of the beach by some cliffs. We were rewarded with an incredible view over the beaches to both sides. The peak at the end of the hike is a tunnel which connects both seasides and can be passed. The only catch was that the way was very slippery. It happened even faster than I was able to react. In the moment I slipped down the rocks my first thought was to hold my bag up high and protect the mobile phone of being drown in the sea. But it was too late - together with my bag I was thrown into the sea. Lucky me, I could get out my bag really quickly, I could take off the cover and turn it off. But even worse was to come. Because the ground was slippery, I had taken off my Flip Flops what got me something sharp in the foot.

    Back home I tried to get it out. Luca and Patrick, two guys from Switzerland, tried to help me get it out. But as we had no needle the operation turned out to be much more difficult than previously expected. But Swiss people, prepared as always, never go on travel without their Swiss pocket knife. Together we tried to open it a bit because it turned out to be stuck into my foot very deep. Unsuccessfully, I heard that some doctors from the United States were staying with us in the hostel - Lucky me! He checked my injection pass - everything seemed to be fine. After half an our the operation was finalized. Relieved, I could go to bed.

    'Till tomorrow, then!
    Read more