Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Koki Beach Restaurant

    January 12, 2018 in Costa Rica ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    Awesome Workaway Team

    Today pretty everyone was off from work, so Martin, Vishal, Aina and I decided to stay the day at Playa Cocles. Martin went by skateboard carrying his surfboard while we others went by bike, me carrying his guitar. Since I couldn’t surf so far because of bad weather, being ill and not having a surfboard, I was pretty excited to try it again - it has been one year since I surfed in Haleiwa. Playa Cocles has pretty good waves but however, my arms are not trained enough and the waves are changing their location very quickly what makes it difficult for me to even be able to catch a wave. The next problem was Martin’s surf board - it’s definitely not a beginner board. Even if I struggled the whole time and had to put a lot of effort into it, I still felt more than happy to be back surfing in the water! After surfing we began to jam. People were passing by and some asked to play the guitar for a while. This day, there was also a surfing competition going on - pretty good surfers! Aina and I got hungry and so we bought some meat stick from a street food stand - very spicy!

    In the evening, as we got back, we decided to go out and to wander a bit through the center of Puerto Viejo. The Swiss guys, Patrick and Luca, wanted to join us. It was pretty much fun with them and finally, we ended in the fancy bar, I always had passed but never had gone inside so far. The Koki Beach Bar is really worth a visit! The cocktails were "super rico“ and after a while a sloth was passing by the roof. After the bar nearly closed, we went back to the hostel. Aina went to bed and the rest of us played some ping pong. We were talking on the balcony until late in the night. The guys taught me some Swiss farmer dialect from St. Gallen: „Hay doi, gö ma i dä möscht!“, was so viel bedeutet wie: „Hey you, let’s go to the bar!“ They were pretty fun and I will definitely miss them when they’re leaving tomorrow! But that’s the point about working in a backpacker hostel: You get to know a lot of awesome people but they will never stay for a long time…

    Looking forward to reunite at the Pacific Coast!
    Read more