Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Baku

    June 15, 2023 in Azerbaijan ⋅ 🌬 29 °C

    The journey started from Dubai, took a one way flight to Baku. I was exhausted but excited at the same time to start a new adventure. I had just left Afghanistan where i met a group of incredible travelers. My heart was a little sore but I knew that what was coming was going to be interesting.

    This is my first time traveling to Azerbaijan. Landing in Baku and staying in the city for 3 days. Went straight out to the airport and asked for a “bolt” which is a cheaper and more convenient taxi.

    The driver was nice, he didn’t speak English tho. He stopped in the middle of the road, I panicked, didn’t know what was going on (honestly didn’t know nothing about the country) he said “you want drink something”. He literally stepped out of the car and went to get a cola. Just like that, he welcomed me to Azerbaijan .

    Arrived to my hostel “Sahil Hostel” where I was lost for about 20 minutes trying to find it since it was in a building and the elevator wasn’t very clear to which floor the hostel was. Ended up being scolded by an Azerbaijani lady when I rang her bell hoping it was my accommodation.
    Read more