Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Still stuck in Adra

    June 16, 2016 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    We had a peaceful calm night but the wind is due to get back up this afternoon.
    The next harbour is fifty miles away so we wouldn't have had the time to get further west before the wind comes back and anyway the seas outside looked like they were still high after yesterday's wind.

    There is an Italian father and son crew on the next boat.
    The father is a right old seadog and we have being sharing weather information. He agreed my assessment to stay put another day which did my confidence no harm at all having an experienced sailor agreeing with my reading of the weather conditions.

    The wind came up a bit earlier than expected at 11.00 and while is didn't get into the 30's like yesterday, it was still strong enough.

    Dave and I went walkabout while the girls went to the tourist office to check on alternative means of getting to Faro.
    They were getting anxious that we wouldn't get there in time. I was fairly certain we would, but could only tell them I was 95% certain on getting there on time but they were paying more attention to the other 5%.

    Dave and I went to a local Spanish bar where we had lunch having successfully tried out my poco espanol or cupla focail as we'd say at home.
    After dinner aboard we all headed back to the 'Irish' bar mainly for the wifi and found that the forecast was good for tomorrow which put smiles on the Mary's faces, so we celebrated with another drink.

    I met my Italian pirate when we returned to the marina and he too was planning to leave in the morning. Everyone was happy with life.
    Read more