Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Tall ships and Maeve heading home

    June 4, 2018 in Ireland ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Maeve was heading home later so we stayed put in Dun Laoghaire and explored the town.
    We went for a walk along the long east pier and watched the tall ships leaving Dublin Port while we enjoyed ice-creams in the sun that had returned this morning.

    Maeve headed away at 16.00 and I headed to the marina office to get a new bottle of gas as I began to get the Eureka ready for tomorrow.

    We had decided seeing that the weather was still excellent that rather than going straight home that I'd continue north, and visit a friend of mine in Warrenpoint. I had been threatening to visit by sea for over twenty years, time to call my own bluff.
    Well, I had done the hard bit getting to Dun Laoghaire so it would be a shame to turn back now?
    Hence the title 'Was heading for Dun Laoghaire....'

    I was settling in for the evening for an early start tomorrow when I got a phone call from my friend Tom who we had dinner with last night.
    He too is a sailor and he was thinking of joining me for the trip to Warrenpoint but when he heard that I was planning to leave at dawn he had second thoughts.
    He rang me back 10 minutes later and said he'd join me and stay onboard tonight. Great.

    Veronica his wife dropped him down to the boat and stayed for a cuppa before going home, reassured that I'd look after her hubby.
    We sat and talked for a bit before having an early-ish night.
    Read more